Learn about POYi: See a recap of the winners or learn more about the competition over the years.

NOTE: Credits withheld until judging concludes

Photographs are posted without credits until judging is complete. This is to protect the anonymity of entrants across all categories because many images are entered in multiple categories, including the portfolios. Once judging has concluded and POY has verified all winning entries, final results will be announced and full credits with photographers' names and affiliations will be displayed.

Meet the Judges


  • // Feb. 6 - Feb. 10, 2017

    News Division

    Monday, Feb. 6
    Feature

    Tuesday, Feb. 7
    Campaign 2016
    U.S. Presidential 2016
    Campaign 2016 Picture Story

    Wednesday, Feb. 8
    Portrait
    Portrait Series

    Thursday, Feb. 9
    General News
    Spot News
    Impact – Islamic State

    Friday, Feb. 10
    Newspaper Local Picture Story
    Newspaper Photographer of the Year

  • // Feb. 11 - 13, 2017

    Sports Division

    Saturday, Feb. 11
    Sports Feature
    Sports Action

    Sunday, Feb. 12
    Recreational Sports
    Olympics Action
    Olympics Feature

    Monday, Feb. 13
    Sports Picture Story
    Sports Photographer of the Year

  • // Feb. 15 - Feb. 18, 2017

    Reportage Division

    Wednesday, Feb. 15
    Science & Natural History
    Science & Natural History Picture Story
    Environmental Vision Award

    Thursday, Feb. 16
    News Picture Story
    Issue Reporting Picture Story

    Friday, Feb. 17
    Feature Picture Story
    Community Awareness Award

    Saturday, Feb. 18
    World Understanding Award
    Photographer of the Year
    Best Photography Book Award

  • // Feb. 20 - Feb. 23, 2017

    Visual Editing Division

    Monday, Feb. 20
    Multimedia Feature Story
    Online Feature Story Editing
    Print Magazine / Media Visual Editing

    Tuesday, Feb. 21
    Multimedia News & Issue Reporting Story
    Online News & Issue Story Editing
    Print Newspaper Visual Editing

    Wednesday, Feb. 22
    Documentary Journalism
    Documentary Project of the Year

    Thursday, Feb. 23
    Newspaper Visual Editor of the Year
    Magazine / Media Visual Editor of the Year
    Multimedia Photographer of the Year
    Angus McDougall Overall Excellence in Editing Awards